

01-24-NVSPA Minutes **(DRAFT)** Nottawasaga Valley Conservation Authority Apr 26, 2024 at 11:00 AM EDT @ 8195 8th Line, Utopia ON, LOM 1T0

Attendance

Present:

Mayor Scott W. Anderson, Adjala-Tosorontio (Township); Cllr. Christopher Baines, Collingwood (Town); Cllr. Joe Belanger, Wasaga Beach (Town); Cllr. Nicole Cox, New Tecumseth (Town); Cllr. Kyle Fegan, Shelburne (Town); Cllr. Pieter Kiezebrink, Essa (Township); Chair Gail Little, Amaranth (Township); Deputy Mayor Paul Van Staveren Clearview (Township); Mayor Janet Horner, Mulmur (Township); Cllr. June Porter, The Blue Mountains (Town); Vice-Chair Jonathan Scott, Bradford West Gwillimbury (Town); Cllr. Gary Harvey, Barrie (City); Cllr. Ralph Manktelow, Mono (Town); Cllr. Richard Schell, Oro-Medonte (Township)

NVCA Staff:

Sheryl Flannagan, Director, Corporate Services; Doug Hevenor, Chief Administrative Officer; Chris Hibberd, Director, Watershed Management Services; Kyra Howes, Director, Conservation Services; Sarah Thompson, Source Water Coordinator; Maria Leung, Senior Communications Speciliast; Jennifer France, Watershed Monitoring Technician; Kerry Jenkins, Administrative Assistant/Recorder

Absent:

Cllr Phil Fisher, Springwater (Township); Cllr. Kevin Eisses, Innisfil (Town); Mayor Darren White, Melancthon (Township); Cllr. Joel Loughead, Grey Highlands (Municipality);

Guests:

Bill Thompson, Project Manager, South Georgian Bay Lake Simcoe Source Protection Region; Lynn Dollin, Chair, South Georgian Bay Lake Simcoe Source Protection Committee

1. Call to Order

Chair Little called the meeting to order at 11:22am.

2. Adoption of Agenda

Recommendation RES: 01-24 Moved by: Cllr. Christopher Baines Seconded by: Deputy Mayor Paul Van Staveren **RESOLVED THAT:** the agenda for the Nottawasaga Valley Source Protection Authority 01-24-NVSPA dated April 26, 2024 be approved. **Carried;**

3. Declarations of Pecuniary and Conflict of Interest

4. Minutes

Minutes of the Nottawasaga Valley Source Protection Authority 01-23-NVSPA dated April 28, 2023

Recommendation *RES: 02-24* Moved by: Cllr. Nicole Cox Seconded by: Cllr. Pieter Kiezebrink **RESOLVED THAT:** The Minutes of the Nottawasaga Valley Source Protection Authority 01-23-NVSPA dated April 28, 2023 be approved. **Carried;**

5. Correspondence

There was no correspondence at this time.

6. Presentations

Sarah Thompson, Source Water Coordinator, conducted a presentation regarding 2023 Source Water Protection Annual Report to the Ministry.

Recommendation *RES: 03-24* Moved by: Cllr. Rick Schell Seconded by: Cllr. Christopher Baines **RESOLVED THAT:** the Board of Directors receive the presentation regarding the Annual Report to the Ministry. **Carried;**

7. Reports

7.1. Staff Report No. 01-01-24-NVSPA from Lynn Dollin, Chair, South Georgian Bay Lake Simcoe Source Protection Committee

Recommendation *RES: 04-24* Moved by: Cllr. Kyle Fegan Seconded by: Mayor Scott W. Anderson **RESOLVED THAT:** That the report by South Georgian Bay Lake Simcoe Source Protection Committee Chair Lynn Dollin regarding Source Protection Committee updates be received for information. **Carried;**

7.2. Staff Report No. 02-01-24-NVSPA from Sarah Thompson, Source Water Coordinator

Recommendation *RES: 05-24* Moved by: Cllr. Christopher Baines Seconded by: Cllr. Ralph Manktelow **RESOLVED THAT:** Staff Report No. 02-01-23-NVSPA regarding the 2023 Source Water Protection Annual Report to the Ministry be received for information. **Carried;**

7.3. Staff Report No. 03-01-NVSPA from Sarah Thompson, Source Water Coordinator

Recommendation *RES: 06-24* Moved by: Cllr. Pieter Kiezebrink Seconded by: Cllr. Ralph Manktelow **RESOLVED THAT:** Staff Report No. 03-01-24-NVSPA regarding the Source Protection Plan amendments be received for information. **Carried;**

7.4. Staff Report No. 04-01-24-NVSPA from Sarah Thompson, Source Water Coordinator

Recommendation *RES: 07-24* Moved by: Cllr. Nicole Cox Seconded by: Mayor Scott W. Anderson **RESOLVED THAT:** Staff Report No. 04-01-24-NVSPA regarding the appointment of members to the Source Protection Committee be received for information. **Carried;**

8. Other Business

There was no other business.

9. Adjourn

Recommendation *RES: 08-24* Moved by: Mayor Scott W. Anderson Seconded by: Cllr. Kyle Fegan **RESOLVED THAT:** the Nottawasaga Valley Source Protection Authority meeting adjourn at 11:50am, to meet again at the call of the Chair. **Carried;**