

# 01-25-BOD (AGM) Minutes (**Draft**) Nottawasaga Valley Conservation Authority Friday January 24, 2025 9:00 AM EST

#### **Attendance**

#### **Present:**

Cllr. Joe Belanger, Wasaga Beach (Town); Chair Gail Little, Amaranth (Township); Cllr. Patricia Clark, Mulmur (Township); Cllr. June Porter, The Blue Mountains (Town); Vice-Chair Jonathan Scott, Bradford West Gwillimbury (Town); Cllr. Joel Loughead, Grey Highlands (Municipality); Cllr. Pieter Kiezebrink, Essa (Township); Mayor Scott W. Anderson, Adjala-Tosorontio (Township); Cllr. Christopher Baines, Collingwood (Town); Cllr. Nicole Cox, New Tecumseth (Town); Cllr Phil Fisher, Springwater (Township); Cllr. Richard Schell, Oro-Medonte (Township); Cllr. Gary Harvey, Barrie (City)

#### **NVCA Staff:**

Sheryl Flannagan, Interim CAO/Director, Corporate Services; Chris Hibberd, Director, Watershed Management Services; Kyra Howes, Director, Conservation Services; Kerry Jenkins, Administrative Assistant/Recorder

#### Absent:

Deputy Mayor Paul Van Staveren Clearview (Township); Cllr. Kevin Eisses, Innisfil (Town); Mayor Darren White, Melancthon (Township); (Town); Cllr. Ralph Manktelow, Mono (Town); Cllr. Kyle Fegan, Shelburne (Town)

#### 1. Call to Order

Recommendation:

RES: 01-25

Moved by: Cllr. Christopher Baines Seconded by: Cllr. Patricia Clark

Sheryl Flannagan, Sheryl Flannagan, Interim Chief Administrative Officer/Director, Corporate Services chaired the meeting until the elections were held.

Acting Chair Flannagan called the meeting to order at 9:50am. **RESOLVED THAT:** Sheryl Flannagan, Interim Chief Administrative Officer/Director, Corporate Services be appointed as Chair, Pro Tem until the election of the 2025 Officers.

Carried;

#### 2. Declaration of Pecuniary and Conflict of Interest

# 3. Motion to Adopt the Agenda

Recommendation:

RES: 02-25

Moved by: Cllr. Gary Harvey

Seconded by: Mayor Scott W. Anderson

**RESOLVED THAT:** the agenda for the Board of Directors 65th Annual General Meeting 01-25-BOD dated January 24, 2025 be approved as

amended. **Carried**;

#### 4. Announcements

There were no announcements at this time.

#### 5. Presentations

There were no presentations at this time.

#### 6. Elections of NVCA Officers

Sheryl Flannagan, Interim CAO/Director, Corporate Services will review the election procedures with Board Members.

# 7. Appointment of Scrutineers

Recommendation:

RES: 03-25

Moved by: Cllr. Pieter Kiezebrink Seconded by: Cllr. Joe Belanger

**RESOLVED THAT:** Kyra Howes, Director, Conservation Services and Kerry

Jenkins, Administrative Assistant be appointed as scrutineers for the

duration of the NVCA 2025 elections; and

**FURTHER THAT:** the ballots be destroyed after the election process.

Carried;

### 8. Election of Board of Directors Chair and Vice-Chair

#### 8.1. Conduct Election of Chair

Call for nominations for the position of Chair.

First Call Mover: Cllr. Joe Belanger, Cllr. Jonathan Scott was

nominated for Chair.

**Second Call Mover:** no nominations. **Third Call Mover:** no nominations.

**Close Nominations** 

Moved by: Cllr. Christopher Baines

Seconded by: Cllr. Phil Fisher

Cllr. Jonathan Scott was acclaimed as Chair.

#### 8.2. Conduct Election for Vice-Chair

Call for nominations for the position of Vice-Chair.

First Call Mover: Cllr. Pieter Kiezebrink, Deputy Mayor Gail Little

was nominated.

**Second Call Mover:** no nominations. **Third Call Mover:** no nominations.

**Close Nominations** 

Moved by: Cllr. Rick Schell

Seconded by: Cllr. Christopher Baines

Deputy Mayor Gail Little was acclaimed as Vice-Chair.

### 8.3. Appointed NVCA Officers

Recommendation:

RES: 04-25

Moved by: Cllr. Patricia Clark

Seconded by: Cllr. Pieter Kiezebrink

**RESOLVED THAT:** the Board of Directors has elected and/or appointed for the year 2025 Nottawasaga Valley Conservation

Authority Officers as follows: **Chair:** Cllr. Jonathon Scott

Vice-Chair: Deputy Mayor Gail Little

Carried;

# 9. Acknowledgements

Elected Officers of the NVCA.

The newly elected Chair conducted the remainder of the meeting.

## 10. 2025 Borrowing Resolution

Recommendation:

RES: 05-25

Moved by: Cllr. Joe Belanger Seconded by: Cllr. Gary Harvey

**RESOLVED THAT:** for the fiscal year 2025, the Nottawasaga Valley Conservation Authority borrow, as required on credit, up to \$500,000 for its purpose until payment to the Authority of grants from the Province of Ontario, and levies rom its member municipalities are received.

Carried;

## 11. Appointment of 2025 Authority Solicitors

Recommendation:

RES: 06-25

Moved by: Cllr. Christopher Baines Seconded by: Cllr. Patricia Clark

**RESOLVED THAT:** the firms of Hicks Morley Hamilton Stewart Storie LLP, be appointed for Human Resources legal advice, as required for 2025 and; **FURTHER THAT:** Hill Hunter Loswell Law Firm LLP, Beard Winter LLP, Barriston Law and Gardiner Roberts LLP be appointed to conduct the legal business of the Authority for 2025.

Carried:

# 12. Appointment of 2025 Authority Auditors

Recommendation:

RES: 07-25

Moved by: Cllr. Pieter Kiezebrink Seconded by: Cllr. Phil Fisher

**RESOLVED THAT:** the firm KPMG LLP be appointed to conduct the auditing

functions of the Nottawasaga Valley Conservation Authority for 2025.

Carried;

# 13. Appointment of NVCA Representative to Conservation Ontario Council

Recommendation:

RES: 08-25

Moved by: Cllr. Joe Belanger Seconded by: Cllr. Phil Fisher

**RESOLVED THAT:** the Chair be appointed as the NVCA voting delegate on

Conservation Ontario Council for the year 2025; and

**FURTHER THAT:** the Vice-Chair and Interim Chief Administrative Officer/Director, Corporate Services be appointed as alternates.

Carried;

# 14. Appointed of NVCA Board Representatives to the NVCA Agricultural Advisory Committee

Recommendation:

RES: 09-25

Moved by: Cllr. Rick Schell

Seconded by: Cllr. Patricia Clark

**RESOLVED THAT:** the following Board members be appointed to the NVCA

Agricultural Advisory Committee for 2025:

1). Cllr. Joel Loughead

2). Cllr. Pieter Kiezebrink

3). Cllr. Kevin Eisses

Carried;

# 15. Freedom of Information and Privacy Act

Recommendation:

RES: 10-25

Moved by: Mayor Scott W. Anderson

Seconded by: Cllr. Nicole Cox

**WHEREAS:** members of the Board and Nottawasaga Valley Conservation Authority may designate an individual to act as Head of the Authority for purpose of the Municipal Freedom of Information of Privacy Act, R.S.O.

1990, c M.56, s. 3(1); 2002 C. 17, Schedule. F, Table; therefore **BE IT RESOLVED THAT:** Sheryl Flannagan, Interim CAO/Director,

Corporate Services be designated as Head of the Authority for purposes of

the Act.

Carried:

## 16. Other Business

Interim CAO/Director, Corporate Services, Sheryl Flannagan, gave a brief update of her first month in position.

# 17. Adjourn

Recommendation:

RES: 11-25

Moved by: Cllr. Christopher Baines

Seconded by: Cllr. Phil Fisher

**RESOLVED THAT:** the Board of Directors adjourn at 10:40am to meet

again on February 28, 2025 or at the call of the Chair.

Carried;